Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I increase the open rate of my email marketing campaigns?

Community Manager

How can I increase the open rate of my email marketing campaigns?

I'm new to running a business and promoting my business. I've tried a couple of email marketing campaigns and I need tips on how to increase the open rate. Thanks!

GoDaddy Sr. Community Manager
11 REPLIES
Pro Community Founder Mentor

Re: How can I increase the open rate of my email marketing campaigns?

[ Edited ]

There are plenty of articles floating around with all sorts of advice about best time-of-day, or best day-of-week to send, or optimal message length, or .... But I think one key motivation to opening marketing emails is because the reader knows (or suspects, or hopes...) that there will be something OF VALUE in that email. And not just of value, but of value to THEM, personally.

So what are items of value? My clients who have the best open rates routinely include in their emails:

• Coupons
  • Announcements about sales or special deals
  • Actual helpful and relevant information for readers (tips, tricks, hints, links, whatever -- could be something that helps readers save time, save money, learn about a relevant topic/activity...)

Unfortunately, coupons may not work for all types of businesses, but once readers know that you wil have something in it for THEM, they will be more likely to open the next message.

And along with that, the subject line really needs to mention something about that item of value.

Community Founder

I agree with WebDiva. My most successful emails are the ones that include a coupon or incentive. I'm a hypnotist and trainer so my contacts are mainly clients, students and graduates. Incentives can include a coupon to receive a counseling or coaching session with me at a discount, free mp3 download - things like that.