• GoDaddy Community
  • Managed WordPress Hosting
  • Managed WordPress Hosting

cancel
    Showing results for 
    Show  only  | Search instead for 
    Did you mean: 

Wordpress website will not show live unless I add "www"??

Hi guys! I'm a brand new web-developer student and I'm setting up a career advice business. This isn't my first time playing around with Wordpress or cPanel hosting, but the last time I did it I sort of had a free ride on all things that make your life easier. So my issue is the following, hope someone can shine a light in the right direction!

So, as I was finishing setting up my website, I noticed that if I tried to access it from a private window (or any window, for that matter) this thing would pop up if I wrote the domain like "theheadstarter.com" (which is the actual name of the domain):

headstart1.png

This window shows up when I write the domain without the "www" and it redirects me to my cPanel. But then something funny happens when I add it (www.theheadstarter.com😞

headstart2.pngLook at that! A live webpage AND redirected to the address that I initially wrote. Smiley Happy Smiley Happy Smiley Happy

Does somebody have an idea of what I'm missing? I've never had this problem before. I was reading that maybe it has something to do with the SSL certificate or the DNS but I have no idea how to check.

I'd appreciate the help because I'm completely lost!

1 REPLY 1
    Super User III
    Super User III

Re: Wordpress website will not show live unless I add "www"??

Hey there,

It looks as if it's working correctly now. That leads me to believe it was just a propagation issue. FYI, DNS changes can take 24-48 hours to complete although it's usually done in about 10-15 mins on average.

I am a GoDaddy End User - Just Like You