• Welcome and Announcements

cancel
    Showing results for 
    Show  only  | Search instead for 
    Did you mean: 
    Super User II Super User II
    Super User II

From Modems to Muse

It's 1994, I discover CompuServe and a 4800 baud modem.  I can still hear that puppy dialing up in my head! 

Signed up for AOL too. Back then, AOL was cool -- and incredibly fun!  I. Was. Hooked.

Everyone I spoke to about this new "online thing", well, their eyes gazed over. Many seemed to be humoring me like I was a crazy lady.  I couldn't believe how they couldn't believe how exciting it all was!  That didn't discourage me -- it egged me on!

I was an engineer at the time for a large electronics manufacturer -- and while I had a great career, I couldn't shake the potential I just knew was waiting with my new online obsession.  I *knew* it would change business as we knew it forever.  I saw all this coming and my gut wouldn't shut up about it!  (Same thing happened again when WordPress was born 15 years ago.... *always* listen to your gut!)

So, coming from a family of entrepreneurs, I opened the first “Internet Studio” storefront, in a sleepy town on the IL/WI border in 1995.   Was that crazy or what!?  That was even before "internet cafes" were the in thing.  It was so successful I opened a training studio on how to use the Internet next door.  Good times!

Back then a domain, a server and a little HTML, JavaScript and CGI was all you needed to put up an effective “Web site”.  And you could get found quite easily on search engines -- boy, those days are so over.