Website Builder version 6 Help

Backing Up or Restoring Your Website

Website Builder allows you to manually create up to five backup copies of your website, and if necessary, restore your website from a backup version. Before you can restore a previous version of your website, you must have created a backup copy. The restore options do not display if you haven't created a backup copy. For more information, see Importing Content from Previous Projects or Backup Files.

NOTE: A backup of the site is automatically created whenever you publish your site, restore it, select a new theme or restart your device. A maximum of five backups are created. The oldest of the five versions is deleted whenever a new backup is created. There's no time limit on using the backups.

To Back Up Your website

  1. Log in to your GoDaddy account.
  2. In your Products list click Website Builder, and then click Manage next to the account you want to use.
  3. From the Manage menu, select Backup/Restore. The Backup and Restore page displays.
  4. In the Enter a name for this copy field, specify the name for the backup file.
  5. Click Save website.

To Restore a Backup Copy of Your website

  1. Log in to your GoDaddy account.
  2. In your Products list click Website Builder, and then click Manage next to the account you want to use.
  3. From the Manage menu, select Backup/Restore.
  4. In the Restore a Previous Project area, click the Restore button for the project you want to restore. The Restore button is located in the Restore column of the list.
  5. To make a backup copy of your current website before restoring the saved copy, click OK. Website Builder restores the saved copy of your project.

Was This Article Helpful?
Thanks for your feedback. To speak with a customer service representative, please use the support phone number or chat option above.
Glad we helped! Anything more we can do for you?
Sorry about that. Tell us what was confusing or why the solution didn’t solve your problem.